3 Years after the campaign ended, I finally received my (probably) last crowdfunded game ever

Here it is!

Finally, after 3 years (and 1 month, but who’s counting), I finally received my copy of ISS Vanguard. And while I am truly excited to dig into this latest mountain of plastic and cardboard, I am fairly certain this will be my last crowdfunded title. As I have come to have issues with the way that publishers are using crowdfunding, and the fact that I have finally shed any FOMO that I once might have had.

A rant (in 4 parts).

Part 1: The Bank of the Individual

Kickstarter and other similar crowdfunding sites do a lot things to help get players excited about the idea of getting the next great title in their hands, with the promise of delivering directly to them, with a reservation system that promises they won’t miss out. All they need is your money up front. A loan if you will, and an interest free one at that.

Short of a loan with friends or family, I can’t think of an example of taking a loan without having any interest applied. But that’s what you agree to do when you back a crowdfunding campaign. You give the publisher money, with the promise that they’ll deliver the product in question that you signed up to receive once the dust settles.

In essence, instead of the publisher taking a loan out against a bank or similar type financial institution, you become the bank. Every single person who backs a campaign is a lender. And instead of a promise to pay back the loan, the promise is product. With no interest attached. Which means publishers have zero financial incentive to get the game into backers hands as quickly as possible.

Oh what’s this? A letter?

Now I know there a lot of small to medium sized publishers, who without this upfront revenue stream, would be hard pressed to had the funds to be able to produce their game, in order to get it to market. But the game I backed for this article, brought in almost 12 million dollars with over 40,000 individual backers. I wonder what the interest rate would’ve been on a 12 million dollar loan and what they would have equated to in interest total for the life of that loan?

Part 2: Enough is Enough

Have you noticed that crowdfunding campaigns all seem (for the most part) to have a troubling trend the last several years?

What I’m seeing is that campaigns have gone over the top with “campaign exclusive add-ons” and incentives to entice you into giving a bigger loan to publishers. To the point where tabletop crowdfunding campaigns have gotten very expensive. Even for the base pledge. It seems like it’s become more prevalent in recent years that crowdfunding has become dominated by this supermassive games that have more add-ons and extras that anyone could ever shake a stick at. Much less get through content wise at your table.

In essence, instead of the publisher taking a loan out against a bank or similar type financial institution, you become the bank. Every single person who backs a campaign is a lender.

More content means more money. Means bigger profit. Means more for publishers. And all of that is Capitalism 101. And I get it. You as the consumer have every right to spend your hard earned dollars where you like. And if you are so inclined, I encourage you to spend it how and where it makes you happy. But for me, it’s gotten harder and harder to justify the expanded costs with these larger crowdfunding campaigns.

What a nice touch

For me, I just can’t justify an expense this large any longer. Especially knowing that the likelihood of getting my money’s worth in terms of play time, isn’t that likely.

But to each their own.

Part 3: The Hill I Die On

If I as a backer, give you an interest free loan to help get your game published, and it makes it into distribution channels and then retail before I receive my copy, there is never any scenario where I think that is okay.

I don’t care what argument is made, I gave you money up front, which in my opinion grants me certain perks. One of which should be that I as a backer get said game before those who didn’t choose to back your campaign, which should include retail.

Hard stop. Period. No exceptions.

Part 4: Where Does This Leave Me?

I’m sure some people who have made it this far, will think of me as The Simpsons old man yelling at clouds meme. And I guess in some regards that may fit here. And while all of this is simply myself, telling the world (by world the 3 people who might read this) about his thoughts and opinions about the current state of crowdfunding as it pertains to the Tabletop gaming world.

So if your someone who has no issue with what has been presented here, by all means, continue to back and support crowdfunding campaigns. If it makes you happy, please continue to do that thing that brings you joy.

I do think there is some merit to re-evaluating the current state of the how crowdfunding operates and your role in it.

I remember the first campaign I backed. The excitement I felt after the campaign successfully funded. My anticipation for it’s arrival. The joy I had opening up the box and looking at my new game. All of which only added to my feeling of being in a cool, exclusive club. Like getting 10 CDs for $0.01 through the mail.

Fast forward to now, and I don’t think I have a need to continue with being a part of this cool club any longer. I’m okay with getting it at my FLGS or not at all. And if I don’t, it’s okay.

I haven’t even hit on how many people have lost money through crowdfunding when the publisher never actually delivers the game in question. Like this example of Mythic Games failing to deliver on over 3.2m between two Kickstarter campaigns

All of this to say, I think I’m okay passing on crowdfunding campaigns moving forward. Does that mean I’ll never back a future campaign? Of course not. I reserve the right to change my mind. But for now, I’m okay with taking a break from crowdfunding.

Who’s free to give this a spin? Anyone?

As always, leave a comment with your thoughts. Until next time, LLAP!

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑